Nourishing Stuffed Sweet Potato, and other things.

Hello, Nidhi here!

I’m quiet embarrassed as to how long it’s been since I’ve written my last post… since October… last year…

Well, life happens and I’m back on the blogging wagon!

My last entry was about my Glowing Lean challenge I had started for myself. I won’t lie, it was tough. I was able to keep up with it for just a couple of weeks but with struggle. I was not allowed to have fruit or any type of sugar (natural, as well) for an entire month and I struggled with this. I was craving dates and figs and my body kept persisting in wanting simple sugar so I gave up two weeks in and had an entire day where all I ate was fruit in all forms. I know what you’re thinking… “It’s fruit, not candy!” And I agree with this. The program suggests to knock off of fruit for a month so that we can complete an entire cleanse where we eat alkaline-high foods so that when we reintroduce fruit into our system again we digest it much better and it doesn’t ferment. I think if we can make positive, healthy choices 90% of the time, we’re not doing so bad. Restrictions take a mental toll on us and that’s when these programs have the potential to make a negative impact on us. I incorporate a large amount of Kimberly Snyder’s regime into my diet – but I feel if I become so extreme with what I put into my body, I may develop an unhealthy attitude towards food. And that’s not good!

Now that you (whoever is reading) has gotten some closure from the last post – mainly me, I can move on to the main event!

STUFFED SWEET POTATO!

Image

I found this idea off of Chocolate-Covered Katie’s blog (love her!)

It’s satisfying, filling, and nourishing.

You can alter this any way you’d like – that’s the beauty of it but I will jot down my version below:

Ingredients:

  • 1 Medium Sweet Potato
  • 1 tablespoon grape seed oil

Filling (yields 2 – 3 servings):

  • 1/4 cup dry brown or wild rice
  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 zucchini, diced
  • 1 tomato
  • 2 garlic gloves
  • 1 onion, diced.
  • 1 large stalk celery, diced
  • 1 large carrot, diced
  • handful of Kale or spinach leaves
  • Himalayan/sea salt as desired
  • crushed chilli peppers, as desired
  • crushed pepper for seasoning
  • 1 tbsp grape seed oil

Lemon Tahini Dressing (yields 2 – 3 servings)

  • 3 tbsp Tahini (stirred well)
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 glove garlic or 1 tsp garlic powder
  • salt, if needed (i didn’t use because lemon usually adds its own tangy flavour)

PH oven to 350

Poke holes into the sweet potato and drizzle 1 tbsp grape seed oil over it. Loosely cover with foil and bake for 35 minutes. After 35 minutes, bake for another 15 minutes on 400 degrees until cooked to your taste.

While the potato is baking all sorts of awesomeness, soak and drain rice and prepare (for brown rice, may take up to 45 minutes) as per the label’s instructions

In a skillet heat grape seed oil (olive oil turns toxic when heated for cooking) and cook onion and garlic on medium for a few minutes. Add tomatoes, celery and carrots; cover for a five minutes until tomatoes become soft. Stir mixture until tomatoes start to form a sauce. Add the rest of the ingredients (kale/spinach, last) and cook until vegetable are soft (peppers should still be crunchy… if that’s how you like your veggies). Remove from heat and cover once finished.

Blend all tahini dressing ingredients together and set aside.

Once the potato is finished slice it down the middle – but don’t cut in half! You can either mix the rice in with the veg medley or you can stuff the rice in the potato and spill the medley on top followed by the tahini dressed.

If you enjoy some pepper sauce drizzled on top, go for it!

photo 2-2

This was so NOMS!! If I do say so myself…

Enjoy 🙂

Nidhi

Leave a Reply

