Carb up!

Image

I don’t know about you, but I am a carb person. Our body craves carbs because our body NEEDS carbs. I have curbed a lot of cravings because I keep myself on a high-carb diet (I’m not perfect – I ate 3 tablespoons of natural peanut butter right after dinner, but I’m human and peanut butter is amazeballs). If you’ve heard of Freelee The Banana Girl (Aussie girl, very popular with her fruit-based regimen and has a kick-ass body solely because of her high-card low-fat diet) she vouches completely for the high-carb diet. I’ll definitely follow up with some more research as to why a high-carb diet can be great for your fitness goals (but everyone is different!).

I’ve decided to post some great meal ideas that are awesome right after a workout or if you’re really craving something heavier and satisfying without the guilt.

In my picture above, I made a healthier, vegan version of the Dutch dish Boerenkool which essentially is mashed potato, kale, nutmeg, butter, and bacon and/or sausage, etc.

What I used (serves 3-4):

  • 2 organic russet potatoes
  • 2 cups kale, diced
  • 1 white onion, diced
  • 2 gloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp grape seed or coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup of almond milk (or any milk of your choice – unsweetened)
  • Himalayan/sea salt to your desired taste
  • pepper for seasoning
  • pinch cayenne pepper
  • pinch of nutmeg (optional)
  • crushed chilli’s (because I love spice)

Scrub the potatoes (if you’re like me and enjoy eating the skin) and steam/or bake for 30 – 40 minutes until tender

Heat oil on a skillet and cook onion and garlic till it becomes aromatic and translucent. Set aside

Once potatoes are cooked, let cool for a minute or so to avoid burning yourself and mash the potatoes. Stir in onions and garlic and mix together. Transfer to skillet and add remaining ingredients, milk last. Add more grape seed or coconut oil if desired for more creaminess.

Serve with a generous side of roasted vegetables and enjoy :).

Next: Grilled Cashew Cheese Sandwich (nope, it’s not real cheese!). Great lunch for a “cheat day” with minimal guilt.

Image

This was the closest I have ever come to simulating vegan mozzarella in the most simplified way. It melted, it was stretchy, it was perfection – to me at least. I found a great vegan mozzarella recipe from this website: http://vedgedout.com/2013/03/11/individual-vegan-margherita-pizzas-with-homemade-fresh-moxarella-cheese/   .. i made my own change to get a thicker consistency, it took playing around with it to get the texture I really wanted. Be patient!

For this sandwich I used two slices of organic spelt and rye bread, and handful of spinach.

Instead of frying it on a pan, I used a Foreman grill which is ironic because it’s purpose is solely for meat and it’s only ever been used for vegetarian purpose. Hazzah!

If you don’t have a grill, fry it with some grape seed or coconut oil and press down firmly with a spatula so that the mozzarella melts properly without burning the bread. Meh, I’m sure you get it, it’s a judgement call :P.

Breakfast: I feel like I have this entire post backwards…

Steel Cut oats in a mason jar! The take-to-work breakfast/snack solution!

Image

Ingredients (Serves 1):

  • 1/3 cup steel cut oats
  • 2/3 cup almond milk or any milk of your choice
  • 1/2 tsp stevia or 1 tbsp organic pure maple syrup
  • 2 – 3 fried figs or any dried fruit of your choice
  • pinch of cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup of walnuts (optional)

Gently boil the milk in a pot and add oats and stevia. Let cook for 5 – 10 minutes then add maple syrup. Let simmer until cooked.

Add dried fruit and/or nuts and let sit in a jar to soften. Enjoy 🙂

Another option is to put the ingredients in a slow cooker overnight for the flavours to really come out :).

Anyways, I’m getting hungry and it’s 11:30pm.. I should probably brush my teeth before I reach for another spoonful of peanut butter.

Goodnight!

Nidhi

Leave a Reply

